hungry bunny

Lying in bed at night reading food reviews and guess what’s on my mind –

image

image

(couldn’t find pictures in my camera row so i got these online)

EGG TARTS!!

Those I had in shanghai were the best I’ve ever had in my whole life in my entire existence in the whole wide world.

Picture a flaky, buttery crust with a delectable filling soft enough to be creme brulee, yet piping hot and ready to be eaten in a single bite. Heaven in a bite. All the more disappointing that I haven’t been able to find anything remotely close to this here at home. Those that I’ve tried here simply don’t match up/are lacklustre in taste.

And they were made by Lillian Bakery who (according my online research) have yet to expand overseas :((

WHY, WHY NOT given the number of oversea franchises creeping into singapore these days :((((

Then my hunt for pictures of egg tart in my camera roll resulted in these:

image

image

SHENG JIAN BAO! Imagine xlbs panfried till crisp then garnised with sesame seeds and spring onions, served piping hot. Value for money too, at 15RMB a bowl ($3 for 4).

(these are the exact ones we had on the ovia)

Ah. Shanghai.

Leave a Reply

